Making of “Too Many Carrots”

One of my favourite parts of illustrating “Too many Carrots” was the cover. I did it last and it involved so many carrots that I needed 3 pieces of paper! I tried to take some photos as I went…

DSC_0003_5

All my work starts with HB pencil.

DSC_0004_5

I use a mixture of watercolour and indian ink and build up in layers.

DSC_0005_5

DSC_0001_5

DSC_0002_5

DSC_0003_6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once scanned it’s time for editing in photoshop and add in extra leafy details.

DSC_0010_1

Working progress of cover on my screen.

IMG_20160425_085302

Final product! (Image taken from @leah_Cook instagram)

Leave a Reply

